Camp Cotton, Texas 9/11/1916

Dear Em

 

I received your card and Lena’s letter of the fifth yesterday which was the tenth. I dont know what the matter can be with the mail leaving here, but you see that the mail leaving there seems to be all right. From all appearances it looks as though we will soon be home. It was very chilly here last night, and about three oclock this morning the moon was shinning and lit up every thing as if it were day.

 

Never mind the fancy paper stuff, even that that is rapt about a loaf of that good old Mr. Walker’s bread will do as long as it is news from 297. I am glad you all seem to like my last picture. You folks must have a lot of fun with Mary all right. The number on the picture is my number at Washington if I should desert or commit murder or some thing.

 

My best regards to all.
Sam

 

© Copyright 2008 by Richard Landers, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers