Somewhere in France, 8/16/1918

Somewhere in France

August. 16th 1918

Dearest sister Madaline:

Just a few moments before drill call so I thought I would write you now instead of tonight.  We received our pay yesterday for June for which I received 107 francs.  Uncle Sam still owes us for the month of July but why worry about July’s pay when we are financially fixed.  This is our second payment so far since we arrived in france so you see pay is very slow in reaching us although its always sure to appear.  Of course 107 francs sounds as big as one hundred dollars but between the French people and their enormous prices I don’t think it lasts very long.  I bought a Waltham worked watch (wrist) for twenty francs for which we would have to pay $16 back home although it only cost my about five dollars.  We are at our rest camp and am living the life of really.  Guess I will close with plenty of love and kisses to you all, I am.

Your Brother.

Joe

Corp. J. Maus

105 US Inf. Co A

American E.F.

A.P.O. 748

PS:  Did you or Anna receive my photos yet?

Joe

After reading the star I noticed that Principal Sweeney of Public School 6 wishes to have all boys names who are doing service over hear.  Would you ask John to do that for me immediately.

Joe

© Copyright 2011 by Lanny & Patti Brown, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers