From Priscilla to Madaline, 11/18/1918

Kings Park, N.Y.

Nov. 18, 1918

My dear friend-

I received your letter Saturday evening and I really cannot express in words how shocked and grieved I was to hear of Joe’s death.  It seemed to come so suddenly that I can hardly realize it to be true.  I feel that there must have been a mistake made and that we will hear that he is still alive.  As you say, there is some consolation in knowing that he died a hero and that will help us to bear our sorrows as bravely as he gave his life.

I have always written to Joe regularly and especially since he has been “Over there” and have had a letter, sometimes two or three every week until Sept 14th which was the last I received and in which he enclosed a very pretty little handkerchief.

I sent him a photo of myself Nov. 3rd because he had been asking for one so often and I thought it reach him by Christmas.

If you should learn any details as to Joe’s death, I should deeply appreciate hearing from you.

With sincere sympathy, believe me to be

Very sincerely yours,

Priscilla

© Copyright 2011 by Lanny & Patti Brown, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 348 other followers