Fort Riley, Kansas 4/22/1918

Evacuation Hospital No. 7

April 22, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

I had the pleasure of a couple of letters from Mother this last week. I am glad she does not always wait for me to write regularly but don’t always manage to carry out my plans.

Thursday is the day of the doings in Emporia. I have not yet said anything about wanting to get away so really have no idea as to whether I will be allowed to go or not. I will ask for a 21 hour pass, it takes only two hours to get there and I can have from three o’clock Thursday till noon Friday to visit. I shall be disappointed if I can’t go but I can figure on making it some other time over Sunday.

The sergeants are going to have their banquet after all. It is to be in Manhattan next Friday night. I have been arranging the affair.  We will have a pretty fair meal for a dollar. A few of us are acquainted with some young ladies and we are going to have them furnish about a dozen girls for the men who haven’t any. We will have a little program and dancing after the feeding is over. There won’t be so much time for that as the last car back leaves at 11:30. We expect about twenty-two or three couples. That will make a nice sized party. Sgt. Hill and I spent yesterday in Manhattan getting things lined up for the event.

The new officers training camp is to open soon and several of our sergeants have applied for admission. I don’t know whether any of them will make it but I imagine two or three of them will. I sometimes feel tempted to apply for it myself but I don’t think I would care for the infantry work so I will stay where I am. The camp opens about the fifteenth of May.

wcgorgas2

Maj. Gen. William C. Gorgas USA

General Gorgas is here today. He is the supreme officer of the Medical Department. He is making a tour of the camps. I understand that he may make a call on our company tomorrow. We shined everything up today in case he should come but he didn’t. I saw him in the canteen this afternoon. He is about my size and not very imposing in appearance for so great a man. There is to be a parade for him tomorrow. The Y.M.C.A. is having an outdoor meeting tonight at which the General is to speak. Sgt. Hill has been called upon to sing for the occasion.

It has rained nearly every day for the entire week. Outside there is mud everywhere and the mud around here is so sticky that we can hardly get it off our shoes. Saturday there was a snowfall of a couple of inches. The snow hasn’t disappeared yet where it was piled up.

Our long expected pay day arrived last Thursday. If I remember right my dues were $3.85 or something like that. I will send five dollars which will pay me up to about the first of May. I need a couple of g-strings so will add two dollars for them. They used to be seventy-five cents. Lewis’ strings are the best and I would like to have them medium weight. If there is any change left add that to my dues.

We are still going through the same routine of drill and instruction. The men have gotten so tired of it that they are getting hard to manage. It has become a regular thing for a few men to take a vacation without leave after each pay day. They get a little punishment but they don’t seem to mind that.

Lights have gone out so it is time to trot off to bed. I am tired too, as we were up late last night.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers