Camp Merritt, New Jersey 5/7/1918

May 7, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

I am putting on a little style today, writing in real fussy paper and with pen and ink. This is the paper that is given out at the camp reading room. The place is just as nice and neat as the paper is. This is a stub pen, though, and I can hardly write with it.

I see by the New York papers that you have had it warm in Chicago, too. It has been really hot here and it is so damp that we feel it more than we used to at Ft. Riley. I don’t know what 110 would be like here. We had it that hot in Ft. Riley last summer.

Today the Company let some men go to New York again so it looks as though we would not go before Thursday as they will not be back till tomorrow. A regiment of Engineers went out last night, or this morning rather. Troops always leave here during the night. I don’t know why they do because everybody knows they are going a day or so before, at least we did with these men.

A new lot of cavalrymen came in yesterday, they are old timers having served on the [Mexican] Border a couple of years. Their principal occupation seems to be shooting craps. Gambling is prohibited in the army but their officers don’t seem to care. We have always been strict about that in our company but I have heard the last couple of days that some of the boys are playing on the quiet. If they would play for small amounts it would be all right but some men lose all thier pay as soon as they get it.

Received a letter from Father this morning, also a dues book. I think I can keep track of my dues all right. I would have sent enough to pay up in advance but I didn’t know when we would get paid again and I wanted some money to spend on the trip if the occasion arose. I understand that sometimes the men don’t get paid for a couple of months after they get on the other side. I don’t know what causes the delay. Maybe the U-boats sink a boat full of money once in awhile. That is possible of course. When the war is over the deep-sea divers ought to be in great demand. There will be a lot of stuff to bring up from the bottom of the sea.

I am rather surprised at John’s going into the Navy. He will learn how to scrub decks now. They have to work pretty hard. There are always lots of sailors in New York, more than there are soldiers. There are so many ships going in and out and as soon as a ship lands the sailors are off for a day or two. The day we were in we saw a lot of them and half of them were drunk. It seems easy for them to get booze although there is a law against providing soldiers or sailors with liquor.

I haven’t the address of Aunt Louise or of the Kessler’s so I haven’t written them. I could call them up and probably will if we have to go before I write them. I haven’t kept my addresses separately and I must have destroyed the letter that had those in.

I don’t think we are more than 75 miles from Philadelphia. If I had my Betsy I could drive down some time if I had time. This is almost a suburb of New York and the towns are so close together that you go from one town into another without noticing the difference.

There isn’t anything that you can send me that I am in need of. We can buy nearly everything at the canteen here at prices less than retail. Will write you again tomorrow. Have written you every day since I came except the day I was in New York. This ought to be the sixth letter.

Love from

Joe

Camp Merritt, New Jersey

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 377 other followers