Somewhere in France, 8/23/1918

ymcalogo

August 23, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

I may not get a chance to write to you again for a few days so I will use a little time that I have now. I wrote you  a week ago and since then we have moved. It is a big job to pack up a big hospital like ours. The material had to be loaded onto trucks and carried to the depot, unloaded there and again loaded on the train. After we arrived here it had all that to go through again unloading. We are back near our first camp in France after we left the port where we landed. We will be here only a couple of days as we are awaiting orders and transportation to go on to wherever it is that we are headed for. We are not setting up the hospital here at all. It has taken a day or two since we got here to get the material straightened out.

It surely has been hot these last couple of days. We never had it so hot where we came from and I hope our final destination will not be any worse. We are not near any town. There are just a few houses gathered on one or two streets. In most of the houses I guess the people and the cows and chickens all live together. The country is hilly and beautiful, the fotthills of the [Censored] I suppose. Last night several of us took a hike up the river a little way. We found an interesting cave and some ruins. The country around here is almost no good for farming. There are no farms, just a few plum trees and pasture for the cows.

We haven’t been getting any mail for a while and I suppose that it will be some time after we get settled before our mail finds us. I haven’t had any for two weeks or more so I should have quite a lot coming when I do get it.

There is a large town about three miles from here but we are not permitted to go there, probably because we are expecting word to go any minute. Now that I have the time there is no place that I can go to practice. We have a phonograph which belongs to the YMCA. That is all the music we have. Some of the records are pretty fair, but altogether there are only a few.

We are all encouraged over the reports of the progress of the war these days and also over the promise of the future. Perhaps it won’t be so long as I feared it might be before we are all together again. I am anxious to hear how the new business is going.

Give my regards to all.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 377 other followers