Camp Cotton, Texas 8/3/1916

Dear Em

 

Im not going to write very much this time, only to say that I got the post card of the West Pointers and I sent six very poor pictures of myself home this morning. I didn’t send them home for any feature effect for I never knew what it was to take one. But it shows that I am not getting any slimmer and surly I am not getting weaker. So much for the pictures. I want you to distribute the pictures aroung as you see fit, that is if they are good enough to be acceptable, and to tell the truth I don’t think so, but as I said before I am only sending them to show you the wonderful condition I am in. I feel good all the time, take a shower bath and change my under cloth every day, and change and wash the uniform every other day. I, (well as far as that goes we all do) wash every thing myself. I know you will say, gee there he goes again telling about the clothes I wash, but you can see by this that there is absolutly nothing interesting to write about, and I want to write a letter, fill it with something and send it on its long journey.

 

I am on interior gaurd today being both commander and sargeant of same. The lieutenant, who should be on the job as officer of such has been detailed to some other part of the camp and that leaves me to hold down both his and my own job. This gaurd is to protect the camp and prevent inlisted men from leaving or entering with out a pass. It is the softest job I’ve struck yet, for we eat in camp instead of grab and take, like what is done on outpost. But I will be back at Number 1 out gaurd tomorrow, and then I’ll appreciate the twenty four hour job I am on now even more.

 

Now I hope I have not disappointed you in not sending you a longer letter, and for not saying something in the short one I have written. Well never mind it wont be long before I will be telling you all about it. Ill be better able to sling the bull when I get home than I am now.

 

Samuel

 

 © Copyright 2008 by Richard Landers, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

Published in: on July 18, 2008 at 6:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2008/07/18/camp-cotton-texas-831916/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 348 other followers

