Somewhere in France, 9/3/1918

I don’t know what number this is but I will call it eleven and keep track of my letters from now on.

ymcalogo

September 3, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

We had a delivery of mail the day before yesterday, the first for three weeks or more. Naturally such an important happening caused a lot of excitement in the Company. After standing in line for an hour and a quarter, crawling up to the window inch by inch I was rewarded by receiving seven letters. Two were from Miss Hartley, two from Miss Phipps, one from Mother, one from Gladys and one from Eleanor Rutland. The letter from Mother was numbered 14. The one I received previous to that was numbered 12 so 13 must be on its way somewhere.Miss Hartley said she had sent me three letters, but I received only two. I like to get lots of letters from my friends but it is not so easy to answer. I have managed to pay off a few of those I owe but I am still deeply in debt.

We have moved again since my last letter to you. Moving around means a lot of work for the men and I am glad that we are settled now for a while at least. We have a number of wooden barracks and have put up some tents besides. Our quarters are in the barracks so we will be pretty comfortable if we are here during the cold weather.

I told you that when I was in Paris I saw the man at the YMCA about doing some playing for them. A few days ago a request came from him asking that I be given permission to do that work for two months or an indefinite period. Our colonel has his approval and I suppose the matter is now up at headquarters waiting their decision. I hope it goes through but I am not counting too much on it as I may be disappointed. I don’t know why they should turn it down though if it is satisfactory here. I don’t know what the YMCA will ask me to do if I am given permission to go. They may send me out with an orchestra or I may play solos, I don’t know.

I have had very little to do the last three or four days and I have spent quite a little time practicing. I have learned three new numbers so I feel that I have accomplished quite a little. I have memorized a Hungarian Rhapsody by Haweer, Pierrot’s Serenade by Randegger and the Moment Musicale by Kreisler.

I have a couple of Kreisler numbers here so when I learn those too, I will have made quite an addidtion to my repertoire. I have a little room where I can practice all by myself and I am making good use of it.

We haven’t any patients now except a few sick men who were dropped off on their way to the front.

Eleanor says that Anita Blank has a little baby now. I don’t know how old it is but she had it at church a month ago. I begin to feel like an old man when I see so many of my young friends married and having children. Gladys says that Bud is at an officer’s training camp now. I think he will get along better than his older brother. As usual my regards to everybody. I hope I will have news soon as to the YMCA work.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/somewhere-in-france-931918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

