Somewhere in France, 10/14/1918

ymcalogo

October 14, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

Having just a little time to spare today I have done a little house cleaning and put my trunk in order. I have a big stack of letters which have accumulated since I came over here and many of them have not been answered. Most of them are from Mother and as I have been writing home regularly I guess I can consider those as answered and dispose of them.

We get mail practically every day now and two or three times a week there is a little for me. I have had two from Mother, two from Gladys, one from Father and one from Miss Phipps. They do not come in the order in which they were written and mailed. The letter I received from Gladys today was written a week earlier than the one I received last week. I think some come direct to France while others go by way of England.

You seem to be having a lot of pleasure out of Betsy II. I am wondering when Betsy I is going to have a little run again. It is not costing much to keep the car and I guess I will take a chance on keeping it instead of selling. I would like to know what Fords are worth now, both new and used. After the war they will be cheaper than during the war as most of the Ford plant is turning out war necessities. There are thousands of little Fords over here. The French use a lot of them as well as the Americans.

I think I told you some time ago that Mr. Woodard is now the concert master of the Minneapolis Orchestra. Ezerwonky, their former first violin is now teaching at the Bush Conservatory. Van Vliet their eccentric first cellist is also among the missing but I don’t know who is filling that place. Has Gunn’s American Symphony done anything this year? No doubt the war has taken away most of his men as nearly all of them were eligible.

We have been so busy of late that I haven’t been able to do any practicing. I have needed nearly all the time I have had off for sleep. The night men sleep days and the day men sleep nights so it is impossible to practice in the barracks at any time. I had planned to use the theatre once in a while but on account of the rush of patients we are using that as a ward now.

We get soldiers from all the Allied Nations through our hospital. Of course they are very rare but we get them once in a while. The other night we had a French negro from the island of Martinique. The French have colonies all over the world and they have all sent their men here to help the mother country. There are Mongolians from Indo-China, negroes from Africa and small islands, Arabs from Algeria and Morocco. We have seen much less of the English and their colonials. Before we moved here we used to get English often because there was a British aviation field near where we were.

I saw something the other day that surpassed anything I have ever seen or may see again. [Censored] aeroplanes went over in one fleet. They were in battle formation and made an imposing sight. I understand that nearer the lines they met others, all together [Censored] going over. I’ll bet the Germans couldn’t believe their eyes when they saw them coming.

The good work at the front still continues. Every day the line moves eastward until now it is almost unbelievable that the powerful German army has been beaten back so far in three months. Germany has just sent their second note to Wilson saying that they accept his terms. A lot of people are excited and think the war is over. I haven’t heard Wilson’s reply but I don’t look for much to come of it. Wilson has said “No peace with the Hohenzollerns” and I think the German people will realize soon that they can have peace when we can deal with a responsible government.

The turning point of the war has come but there probably is a long hard pull ahead of us yet but the end will come. I suppose that right now you at home are eagerly waiting for each paper that comes out for peace news. Our papers are a day old when we get them so you know the news before we do.

I am sending you a coupon for a Red Cross package. The package will be small and I know it will be a question as to what to send. I would like a couple of packages of Gen razor blades. We are not near any commissary and can’t get things like that. We have a YMCA canteen but we can only get tobacco and cookies there.

I can’t understand why you should have been two months without a letter. I may have missed a week when we were so very busy but I don’t see why you had to wait so long. Gladys didn’t have one for three months and I wrote three or four in that time. I hope everybody will get my letters regularly now so no one will think that I am neglecting them or that I am unappreciative of their writing to me.

This ought to arrive about Mother’s birthday. I send a little card which is all we can get around here.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2014/10/14/somewhere-in-france-10141918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

