Somewhere in France, 10/20/1918

ymcalogo

October 20, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

I am having an afternoon off and making use of it to write a few letters. I have just written a rather long one to the Walkers in Cedar Rapids. I have owed them a letter since before I left the States.

I don’t know whether I told you that a couple of weeks ago, Captain Harvey, whose team I was on was called away to another hospital so I am now on Major Babcock’s team. He has been laid up for a couple of days with an infected finger. Nearly all the wounds that come to us are infected and we who handle the wounds and dressings are liable to infection if we have any little cuts or scratches on our hands.

We are not receiving many patients right now. I don’t know what the reason is unless things have slowed down on this front. We are glad that we are still continuing to make big gains especially in Belgium and the north of France. Every little gain brings the day of our homecoming a little nearer.

I haven’t had any mail this week. The company has had a few letters almost every day but none of it has been for me. I sent you the picture during the week. I sent it on a board and wrapped in heavy paper so it ought to reach you in good shape.

Nothing has happened here this week to write about. It has rained continually except for one day and that was as fine a day as you could wish for. It has rained all day today. I went to the church service this morning and this afternoon we are supposed to be on duty but there isn’t anything doing so we are sitting around the operating room writing letters.

It begins to feel as though winter were coming on soon. This miserable, damp chill makes it impossible to keep warm. For my part I would rather have it freeze up and be hard than wade around in this mud all the time. They say that there is a lot of snow and slush here during the winter so perhaps we son’t be any better off then.

We haven’t heard any more about our leaves of absence. We are supposed to have one every four months. Ours was due a month ago and we were told we could have them after this drive was over. We are allowed seven days and the time taken in travelling and all expenses are paid. There are only certain places we can go to and they are in the southern part of France.

Have had no word from the YMCA yet. Things have been pretty dull around here of late. We have had a little spare time but there is no place to go or anything to do so time hangs heavily on our hands. Sgt. Hill and I play cribbage once in a while and I usually manage to beat him.

Well, as usual give my regards to everybody.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2014/10/20/somewhere-in-france-10201918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

