Somewhere in France, 11/18/1918

ymcalogo

November 18, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

This has been about the strangest week that we have put in here in France. There is almost nothing to do, especially in surgery and very few sick cases. We get one or two surgical cases a day and they are mostly cases where they have been celebrating with guns, rockets or grenades and got hurt. One negro came in who had been shot in a fight. He died the following day.

At present we are loafing around more or less and doing a little packing up again, we hope for the last time. We are expecting to have to move soon but we don’t know where and I doubt whether those higher up have made up their minds as to what they will do with us. It is only a week since the rumpus ended and we can’t expect them to know just what they are going to do with every one of the thousands of different organizations that there are over here. Events in Germany, which at present do not seem to be very reassuring will have a great deal to do with the sending home of troops. I don’t look for any large number of troops to go home until after peace is signed and that may be several months yet. I hope we may be among the early ones to go when they do get started. We deserve to go if any hospital does. We have handled more patients than any other evacuation hospital over here and we are the only one that has had a citation from Gen. Pershing. I don’t know whether all that will count towards getting us home soon or not but I hope it does.

In some ways I would like to go to Germany, in some ways I would like to stay in France but in most ways I want to go home. I would like to be home in the Spring so I could get some work to do by Fall. I don’t feel like wasting much more time. If we stay over here we will not be working so hard as we were and we will have some liberties I suppose. Our seven day passes have been due for over two months but we have not had any yet.

Today the two nurses and two of us men on our team took a little trip around the country. Everything is shot up. For miles around there are large and small shell holes every few feet so that it would seem impossible for anybody or anything to have lived through it. There are guns, ammunition and all kinds of equipment scattered everywhere. Men are being sent along gathering up the stuff and piling it up. There are small cemeteries with fifty to a hundred graves in them every little ways. Bodies are still being found around here in out of the way places. Our YMCA man went out the other day with a few other men and buried nine. The troops moved forward so fast that the thousands of bodies had to be left as they were to be taken care of later.

We are right on a railroad and the material that is being gathered is being brought here and dumped and there are mountains of shells, grenades, cartridges, bayonets and all kinds of equipment.

I had two letters from Mother this week. I am sure that you are not getting all of my letters. I have not missed a week in three months, I know. Perhaps you will get them all now and regularly. They ought to make the trip in a week less than they did. The last letter from Mother was mailed on the 28th of October and got here on the 16th. That is 19 days and up to now they have been taking from four to five weeks. Your letters are coming in order so I am sure that I am getting them all. There is more mail in tonight so I may have another letter or two in the morning.

It is late and I am pretty tired from our hike so I think I shall go to my little rabbit hole of a dugout and turn into my bunk.

This is letter number eleven since I began numbering them again. I haven’t been chalking them down in my book but I think I have the number right in my head.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2014/11/18/somewhere-in-france-11181918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

