Somewhere in France, 12/9/1918

ymcalogo

December 9, 1918

Dear Mother and Father:

Our long expected orders to move have come and we are now on the road. We don’t know exactly where we will finish up at but we are not headed homewards and we probably won’t be for several months. I don’t know whether the censorship has been lifted yet or not. I understand that it is supposed to be but we have had no orders to that effect so instead of saying where we are going I will let you use your imagination. I don’t think you will guess wrong.

Our mode of travel dosen’t promise to be very comfortable considering the fact that it is the middle of December. Through somebody’s error or neglect we haven’t enough cars so a lot of us instead of being able to ride in nice (?) comfortable (?) box cars have to ride on the top of flat cars between piles of stoves, tents, and lumber, any place where there is room to squeeze in. Another fellow and I were fortunate enough to make a place big enough for two of us and stretched a little canvas across the top so we have a little protection which means a lot in this miserable cold rainy weather.

There has been some hitch in our travel arrangements. We loaded Friday and left that afternoon. We rode a couple of hours, about fifteen miles and we have remained in the same spot for three days with no prospect of getting out. Fortunately we have quite a little food on the train and we have sent after more so we are not likely to starve even though we are marooned in a desert place.

Yesterday we sent up to the town where we used to get our mail and we got quite a little. My share of the lot was a letter from Mother, one from Father and one from Gladys. Gladys’ letter was written on the 14th of Nov. after the war finished. The other two were from the first week of Nov. It is funny how letters get all mixed up in coming over here.

I hope that Father’s hand is well again. My Betsy never balked on me that way. If she did it would lay me up for awhile. Mother’s letter had the list of addresses in. I doubt whether I will ever be able to see any of them now. Several of them are in base hospitals and they will not move up with us. I know only two or three on the list. I understand that aviation units will be among the first to go home so Gordon ought to be home soon.

We are glad to be getting out of this devastated country. I wonder how the people will treat us where we are going. I suppose they will have to be at least decent and they might even be friendly. If Mother wants to send me a letter addressed to Kr. Pr. street I may be able to forward it the remaining short distance.

My strings have not come yet but I look for them to show up sooner or later. The YMCA work must be all off by now and I don’t care so much now that we are likely to be pretty comfortable so I can have time and a place to practice.

I don’t know when this will get off to you. It generally takes a little time to make postal arrangements at a new place so if there is some delay you will understand it.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2014/12/19/somewhere-in-france-1291918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

