Prum, Germany 1/26/1919

Prum

Prum, January 26, 1919

Dear Mother and Father:

I have received quite a little mail this week, our mail now having been a little more generous than usual. It still comes all mixed up. On one delivery I will get letters mailed a month or more apart. There is no way to solve those mysteries. Perhaps it is that some come by way of England and therefore take longer to get here. I told you of my receiving a letter from Joe Wright and a day or so I had one from Mrs. Hannah. I have also had a couple of letters from Mother, two from Father, two from Gladys, one from Miss Phipps and one from the Walkers in Cedar Rapids. I like to get lots of mail and I shall be able to do more writing myself now that I have some time to myself. I have made out a sort of schedule of letters to be written during the next couple of weeks and if I follow it out closely I ought to be about square with everybody by then.

There is nothing of interest going on here. The operating room is not very busy. We hardly ever have more than two operations a day and often not that many. There are four of us on duty here and when there isn’t much to do we take turns being off duty. At present I am making use of a little vacant room in the building to practice in but I am afraid that it is going to be used pretty soon and then I won’t have any place to go. The room where I am billeted has no light or heat and it is getting too cold to practice there. I am trying to get a better room but haven’t managed it yet.

We are still living in blind hopes of going home some time. There are always plenty of rumors of “inside dope” floating around but there are no real indications of our leaving very soon. We are all ready to go home. Some of the nurses want to stay but they are the only ones I know of. They get $70 a month and don’t have any expense so they don’t have anything to lose by staying over here. Their work is easy now and there are privates in the wards who do all the unpleasant work so they have it pretty nice.

I am sorry to hear of Mr. Rimpler’s death. I suppose the flu got him. He always seemed to be in good health. I am surprised at the news concerning Mr. Richardson. I hope he recovers but the newspapers didn’t say anything about his condition. He is a peculiar fellow so nervous and impulsive. I doubt whether the Miss Murdock incident had anything to do with him.

The package of handkerchiefs and Gladys’ picture has not come and the strings have never gotten here. I don’t know whether those things are allowed to be sent to us. Perhaps they never got started on the trip.

Love from

Joe

© Copyright 2014 by Alice Kitchin Enichen, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com/2015/01/26/prum-germany-1261919/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

