Neufchateau, France 12/1/1917

Same place in France

 

Dear Em

 

Just a very few words tonight to let you all know that all is well here with me. I enjoyed the Thanksgiving Day we just had here as well as could be expected and then some. Here is hoping that you folks enjoyed it doubly more than could be expected. There was a few times that day that I sure did wish I was there in Charlestown with you. We had turkey, mashed potatoes, much cranberry sauce and coffee. I give Uncle Sam credit. It was the best he could do and I thought it was quite enough.

 

I can’t make myself beleive that it is so near Christmas and me not home. But we are going to make the best of this life until something is settled one way or another. We’ve received no mail for at least two weeks and you’re probably in the same boat. How are the poor draft fellows? I suppose they had a tough holiday of it.

 

I got pretty chilly last night and was real snappy today. We have run all out of ink and this letter written in pencil is the result. As usual Im feeling good in fact very good and not getting a bit skinny over it. A large shipment of mail is due here tomorrow and Ive got great expectations of getting a lot of news from home. Here is hoping it is good news.

 

There are quite a few of us tin soldiers over here now a great deal more than was to be expected. And still coming. I wish there was something to say so that I could write a letter but all I can do is wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Im going to enjoy myself if it is possible. Give my regards to all.

 

With love.

 

Sam

 

© Copyright 2008 by Richard Landers, All Rights Reserved. No reproduction without permission.